What we’ve read so far, week 30ish

0518161520

Did you know you can check out stuffed animals and puppets from the library? (And a bunch of other stuff too, but right now baby’s into puppets.) We’re borrowing this little speckled pig right now, just to top off our pile of books. Thanks to BKZ for recommending All of Baby Nose to Toes and Miss Emily at the library for Jazzmatazz!

Recently I was asked for some of my favorite books for infants (really! someone asked!) so I thought I would improve upon my off-the-cuff answer with a more complete list. (Though I’m sure the moment I publish this I’ll think of at least twenty-seven more. Did I omit one of your favorites? Leave a comment!)

Board books

  • Black on White and White on Black by Tana Hoban (these high-contrast, word-free picture books supposedly fascinate infants. Not my infant, but other ones.)
  • The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle
  • Orange, Pear, Apple, Bear by Emily Gravett
  • Happy Hippo, Angry Duck by Sandra Boynton
  • Oh No, George! by Chris Haughton
  • Giraffes Can’t Dance by Giles Andreae & Guy Parker-Rees

Board Books for Bedtime

  • Goodnight, Moon by Margaret Wise Brown
  • I Love You As Big As the World by David Van Buren
  • I Love You Through and Through by Bernadette Shustak
  • You Are My I Love You by Maryann Love
  • Good Night, Gorilla by Peggy Rathmann
  • I’m Not Sleepy by Jonathan Allen (pictured above)

Poems and Rhymes

  • Anything by Dr. Seuss (my personal favorite is One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish, but that’s kind of long for babies. His ABC book is excellent and comes as a little board book.)
  • Anything by Shel Silverstein (my favorite is Where the Sidewalk Ends)
  • The Random House Book of Poetry for Children has a nice mix of classic/old-fashioned and contemporary, long and short, funny and serious poems, organized around themes (e.g. seasons, animals). It contains the excellent “The Adventures of Isabel,” which is strangely easy to memorize despite its length.

Picture Books

  • Wow! Said the Owl by Tim Hopgood
  • Z is for Moose by Kelly Bingham
  • Bark, George! by Julies Feiffer
  • I Don’t Want to Be a Frog by Dev Petty
  • Owen by Kevin Henkes
  • Wolfie the Bunny by Ame Dyckman
  • The Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch
  • Where the Wild Things Are and In the Night Kitchen by Maurice Sendak
  • See “There is a LION in the LIBRARY” for a big batch of suggestions, including books by Jon Klassen & Mac Barnett, Emily Gravett, Aaron Becker, Davie Wiesner, and more. For more on favorite picture books, and the importance of reading to and with children, see “The Pleasure of Picture Books.”

I also have to mention Mo Willems’ There Is A Bird On Your Head!, an “easy reader” book for older kids to read on their own, because it’s a fantastic read-aloud and just might make your baby laugh if you really throw yourself into the performance.

1 Comment

Filed under baby, books

One response to “What we’ve read so far, week 30ish

  1. Thank you for this fantastic list! I’ll add “Little Owl’s Night” by Divya Srinivasan as a beloved board book for bedtime. The illustrations have a bit of that high-contrast appeal (that didn’t seem to particularly impress my infant in the Hoban books either), Little Owl is so dear, and the story is lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

