What we’ve read so far, week 16

Stack of books, spine facing out

I Don’t Want To Be A Frog! is even more fun than I remember it being the first time. Finding Winnie was very good but I think I prefer Winnie: The True Story of the Bear Who Inspired Winnie-the-Pooh by Sally Walker; I’ll have to get it out again and compare. Mo Willems is funny as always – guaranteed to get a laugh from the baby if the reader includes appropriate sound effects – and Bonny Becker’s Bear books are timeless and lovely with their two juxtaposed characters, big grumpy Bear and small bright-eyed Mouse.

I’m unable to read the award-winning Drum Dream Girl without lots of feminist commentary (“…only boys should play drums…” “that’s some sexist bull****, Lyra! You can play any instrument you want!”), but of course that’s the book’s message too. I loved the award-winning Last Stop on Market Street too for its unique voice and almost geometric illustrations.

Jon Klassen’s This Is Not My Hat doesn’t get old (“Nobody will ever find me”); much of its humor derives from the interplay between the text and the illustrations. Emily Gravett’s Blue Chameleon is also a favorite; I love her soft, skilled pencil drawings and the chameleon’s imitation of those it hopes to befriend (including a boot, a goldfish, and a ball).

Rufus Goes to Sea is lively – I’ll have to get the other Rufus books. Olivia was fine; perhaps it will grow on me with re-reading. Mem Fox’s Let’s Count Goats was fun, but if you actually stop to count, it breaks up the rhythm of the rhyme; I prefer Where Is The Green Sheep?

I Am Small is sweet, and has silvery shiny pages; The Tortoise and the Hare is beautiful, but Lyra was cranky when we read it.

As always, suggestions are welcome! Leave a comment.

And now, the most recent baby photos:

Ben holding a smiling Lyra

Favorite activity: being held by Dad so I can stare at Mama while she eats. Soon that food will be mine!

Lyra in jumperoo

Ooooh, shiny.

Lyra in hedgehog outfit in boppy pillow laughing

Sleep through the night? Good joke!

Lyra holding a green ball

What to do today? Consult the orb…

Lyra in bear suit in carrier outside

“You and me, Little Bear.” “This Little Bear is going to hibernate till spring.”

And one of Sudo because we still love her:

Sudo looking out the window

“When is that baby going to follow my good example and start sleeping 16 hours a day?”

2 Comments

Filed under animals, baby, books

2 responses to “What we’ve read so far, week 16

  1. Elke

    And I thought I read a lot of books to the boys (especially Max) but you have me beat! That, or I just don’t remember all the books. Miss the days when the boys and I would come home from the library with 30 plus books. LOVE the pictures of your beautiful family. Lyra looks sooooo much like you 🙂 Enjoy all the snuggles!

    Like

  2. Pingback: What we’ve read so far, week 22 | It's Okay, I Have A Book

Leave a Reply

