Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

In late September, we took a tour of the Taza chocolate factory in Somerville. I highly recommend this tour; it’s informative and there are lots of samples! However, I have been bombarded with e-mails from Taza ever since. Mostly I delete them, but the most recent one caught my eye, because aside from promising $15 off (if you spend $100, so, no, not happening), it included a recipe for Peppermint Cookies.

The e-mail happened to arrive at a time when the baby was napping and likely to be napping a bit longer (she’d had her vaccinations that morning, which, predictably, made her scream and cry and then conk out), and I had most of the ingredients on hand, so I decided to try the recipe. It said it only made 12 cookies though, so I went ahead and doubled it; also, I didn’t have any candy canes or starlight mints on hand, so I used Williams-Sonoma peppermint hot chocolate instead. (It looks like they’re not selling this right now or I’d link to it. Meanwhile, here’s a hilarious take-down of W-S’s holiday catalog instead.)

Other than doubling the ingredients (amounts below), I followed the recipe instructions (link above), and they came out great! I would recommend chilling the dough for 15-20 minutes at least – and overnight is probably fine – so it’s easier to roll into balls.

1 stick butter
5 oz. dark (60%) chocolate with 1/2 tsp peppermint extract
1.5 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 tsp of salt
4 oz. Chocolate Covered Cacao Nibs (we had these from the tour)
2 oz peppermint hot chocolate (no need to double this amount, I used 4 oz. and there was a lot left over)

They came out uniformly round, flat, and soft – I baked them on a Silpat – and have kept well in a tupperware container thus far. This is a nice easy recipe that doesn’t even require a stand mixer, for those of you with minimalist kitchens. What’s your favorite holiday cookie recipe?

Leave a comment

Filed under food, holiday, recipes

Leave a Reply

